No Peeking

th9HRE6WARHave you ever been in the middle of an exciting novel when the suspense overtook you and you found yourself flipping to the back of the book to find out how the story ends?  I have, a time, or two, or three.

I have caught myself exhibiting these same characteristics in my life, as well. Simply, I have not had the faith and trust in God to lay  in His arms, rest, and know that He has everything in His control.  I am a worrier, a fretter, and want to know the details of a situation, often before they even occur.

It is difficult, as the sole provider for my family, at times, to trust fully in Him who knows all.  I am in your shoes.  Large unexpected bills need paid, life brings poor health to those we love, or we have decisions to make which effect our entire family, all of which can produce anxious hearts, sleepless nights, and unnecessary stress on our mind and body.  I write from experience.

You may say, “This is just how I am. I’m a worrier.”  This does not need to be who you are. God who knows all, sees all, and does all if you are His child, cares about all He created, including you!  Those bills you have to pay, He knows about them. The illness plaguing your loved one, He knows about the healing you are longing for.  The important life decisions you need to make, His wisdom is waiting for you as you ask for it.

One of my favorite Scripture passages is Psalm 91.  Often I will read it, inserting my name into the second and third person pronouns.  This passage centers me, brings me into the reality of God’s hand on my life and circumstance, and brings my Spiritual eyes into focus.
My favorite verses are Psalm 91:14-15.

“Because he set his love on Me, therefore I will save him;
I will set him [securely] on high, because he knows My name [he confidently trusts and relies on Me, knowing I will never abandon him, no, never].

“He will call upon Me, and I will answer him;
I will be with him in trouble;
I will rescue him and honor him.”

I don’t have the answers, but I know Who does. Let us increase our trust in God who knows all, believe and have faith that God will bring us through our circumstances, and enjoy our story as it unfolds, page by exciting page.

The plot is what makes our story exciting.  Quit trying to peek at the back of your book with worry and stress. As we look back on written chapters, we’ll be able to see how His hand penned our story, if we let Him.

What verses do you rely upon during stressful and unknown situations?  What focuses your mind back on the One who created you?

About Ruth

I'm a follower of Jesus, mother, grandma, educator, and coffee lover...in that order.
This entry was posted in Devotional and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No Peeking

  1. Suzanne says:

    So good to have you back

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to read your thoughts!

